Photography 101: Water

For day three, the challenge is to share your interpretation of water — how might your image reveal more about you? I have always had a love/hate relationship with water – it is something that I have always loved and feared equally. When I was about 5 or 6 years old I almost drowned in the ocean by getting caught in a riptide – I will never forget the power of the water and it’s pull on me. I was terrified and powerless in a way I have only felt less than a handful of times in my life. Ever since that day I have always been a little bit afraid of the water – of going in too deep, of getting caught up in a strong current and being swept away as if I was nothing. Of not being able to come up for air.

And yet I am drawn to the ocean – in a way that I can’t really understand. I find comfort in it, a sense of peace and calm in it’s strength and constant motion. It reminds me to stop and breath when life feels like it is drowning me. I go to the ocean when I need to think or just be still. I am drawn to it’s vastness and beauty in a way that maybe I wouldn’t be if it hadn’t almost taken me into it for good. It may sound crazy but I see God at work in the ocean. In all that vastness, in all its depths, there is still something greater at work – something bigger than the ocean that makes it work the way it does. Something bigger than all of us. And then I don’t mind feeling so small – I feel significant – like I have some reason for being here.

Anyways, that may be a little bit too reflective for this challenge, but there it is. Here is my photo for water:

Thanks for stopping by!

~Naph

Leave a Reply

