The Snail Mail Collective is AWESOMESAUCE!

snail-mail-button-2

So last month I participated in The Snail Mail Collective via Melyssa on The Nectar Collective! It is an amazing gift exchange where you get paired up with someone from a different country and you have 2 weeks to exchange emails, read their blog and get to know them before you send them a little gift. The gift is to be no more than $5 and should be small and meaningful – AND usually there is a monthly theme that you have to include. For August the theme was “Under the Sea” and my new friend was Amy from The Maldives! You can read more about her here at her blog AmyNabi. I had the best time getting to know Amy and absolutely love this girl!! I’m so glad that I decided to participate in this amazing gift exchange or I would never have met Amy and I know that we will stay in touch always and maybe even one day I’ll go visit her in The Maldives :).

image(3)

SoΒ over the course of two weeks Amy and I got to know each other and learned all about life, family and culture in each others countries. I found it fascinating to learn what is like to live in The Maldives – a group of Islands, 1,192 islands to be exact out of which the people of The Maldives inhabit only around 290, situated in the Indian Ocean southwest of Sri Lanka and India. It is so different from Canada and yet we like so many of the same things and had so much in common. Amy and I sent off our gifts to each other a little over 3 weeks ago and FINALLY both of our packages reached their destinations. I got mine this week and it seriously made my whole week!! It is so fun waiting to get a package and then when it finally arrives you tear into it like it’s Christmas!! So here is what I got:

image(4)

With the gift you have to also send a postcard from your country/city with an encouraging message for your new friend. I think this was one of my favorite parts because we all can use some encouragement once in a while, and it feels even better to give that encouragement to someone else!

image(1)

Amy made me this LOVEY Sea Glass jar – find the DIY here! She didn’t know this but I collect sea glass, and am kinda obsessed with it! The beach and the sea are and have always been a special place for me where I can go to find peace and feel more grounded. So I absolutely love it and have it sitting in my window with my sea shell collection (shells from all of my travels).

image(2)

I also got this cute painted turtle! I LOVE turtles and actually have another one I got in Mexico years ago, so now Myrtle (one on the right) has a new guy in her life to sit on the shelf with :)…I wonder what I’ll call him.

image(5)

This whole experience has been absolutely amazing and I couldn’t have asked for a better partner than Amy and I’m so thankful for her friendship! I hope this inspires you to join the amazing Snail Mail Collective!! You won’t regret it! I can’t wait to do it again :). If you want to see what I sent Amy click here.

Cheers,

~Naph

11 thoughts on “The Snail Mail Collective is AWESOMESAUCE!

  1. Hey Naph. Loved the post. Specially the pictures. I really didn’t know you liked sea glass. Glad I got you something you like. And the turtle you got from Mexico is really cute πŸ™‚ Happy that we are friends. Thanks to snail mail collective. I’m also thinking of doing it again, maybe in October

    • Thanks Amy! It was so much fun taking the pictures and yes I really do love sea glass – you are so creative to think to make that! πŸ™‚ I’m happy that we’re friends too and I was thinking of doing it again in October too!!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Catch-up #6 | PictureThis MyWay

  3. Pingback: Snail Mail Collective TIME!! | PictureThis MyWay

  4. Oh my gosh, Naph! This post is all kinds of amazing!! I’m SO glad you found a new friend in your partner and how lovely are the gifts she sent you! I love that she made that jar — so sweet! πŸ™‚ I also have those bobbing head turtles from Mexico. I think they are so cute! πŸ™‚

    • Wow thanks Melyssa!!! I think you’re all kinds of awesome πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by! I feel so blessed to have met Amy and that jar is freaking amazing! LOVE the whole SMC idea!! Brilliant! xx

Leave a Reply

