Getting Street Smart – More Lessons Learned in my Street Photography Class

So it has been a while since I’ve shared some of my assignments from my street photography class! I’ve learned so much from both my teacher and my fellow classmates throughout the course – about different angles to shoot from, different perspectives, different color palettes, and interesting subject matter! It’s been a challenge but it’s also been good to stretch myself outside of my comfort zone and to have a reason to go out and shoot every chance I get – because it’s for school! πŸ™‚

So I thought I’d share some of my shots from our last assignment which included a field trip down to Gastown – an old part of Vancouver which is really cool and has a lot of character (and characters!). Our assignment was titled: “Urban Utopia” and here’s some of the criteria for what it entailed:

1. Photograph the things people make and leave behind. Look for discarded objects, signs, garbage, and architecture, old and new.

2. Consider how these remnants reflect the people who live and pass through the urban environment.

3. Look at the different ways people attempt to personalize public spaces.

4. Look down. Amazing stuff can be found at street level.

I was pretty excited to not have to go up to people and ask if I could take their portrait – I could just observe and reflect on what I saw. I could interpret how we as humans interact with out surroundings – the little ways we leave our mark on places. So here is my interpretation on this assignment, I hope you enjoy and that it inspires you to go shoot your own “Urban Utopia”.

Β Let me know what you think πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by!

~Naph

One thought on “Getting Street Smart – More Lessons Learned in my Street Photography Class

  1. Pingback: NEW: Weekly Roundup | picturethismyway

Leave a Reply

