To Melbourne with Love

Bike Share - reminded me of Montreal!

Bike Share – reminded me of Montreal!

Dear Melbourne,

You are an incredible city! There is something in the atmosphere that makes you feel alive and your senses explode with delight! It could be that the weather changes every five minutes or it could be the culture that oozes out of every lane-way and every cafe! If you ever get the chance please take my advice and go to Melbourne! Get wonderfully lost and explore hidden lane-ways that are covered in graffiti-art, find eccentric shops and cafes and drink an espresso with chocolate powder on top! You will meet fascinating people where-ever you go I guarantee it! You gave me a gift Melbourne and I will cherish it always! So many wonderful experiences and moments full of joy and wonder! Thank-you!

cappucino

#graffiti art

#graffiti art

I was in Melbourne for about a week and fell head over heels in love with the place! The people are so welcoming and like I said previously – FASCINATING! Each person I met had such an interesting story and I felt so blessed to get to hear so many! We all have a story to tell, and I think we miss out on hearing others’ and sharing our own with people because we get so caught up in the “busyness” of life! I loved that about traveling – I have never been one to stick to a time schedule…I simply go and get fabulously lost and take the time to wander slowly, have random conversations and find the beauty in the ordinary! It is a city that inspires and is a photographers dream – literally filled with gems around every corner!!

melbourne2

I stayed in St. Kilda and loved the laid-back vibe they had going on! It was near the pier and Luna Park – the one with the creepier Clown face (if you’ve been there you know what I’m talking about! It looks like it wants to eat you…a little bit “IT”-like…not at all like the friendly one in Sydney…although if you have a fear of clowns I’d recommend staying clear of both!). It was such a beautiful suburb of Melbourne with the beach and all the unique shops and cafes! Another suburb I loved was Fitzroy! This area is one I would love to live in! The cafes, the shops, the neighborhood and architecture were fabulous! It has a vintage vibe that I adored! Plus while I was there exploring I got to see one of my FAVORITE Aussie shows being filmed! Offspring! If you are a fan of this show then you know how exciting that was to see Nina and Patrick! If you don’t know the show, it is a gem! Such great Aussie story telling – quirky and funny, yet heartwarming and gut wrenching at the same time! I love the Proudman family that the show revolves around and I hope you will too if you check it out!

cool bench! @ Fitzroy

cool bench! @ Fitzroy

Filming Offspring!!

Filming Offspring!!

I made my way to the Queen Victoria Markets – the largest outdoor markets in Melbourne – and the perfect place to find unique gifts/souvenirs,Β  people watch and photograph! Once I had my fill I headed on over to the South Melbourne Markets – the PERFECT markets for yummy and unique foods from all over the world! I had a smorgasbord of flavors! From dim-sum to this flaky Greek pastry stuffed with mushrooms and Greek yogurt to dip in…my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Definitely check out both Markets!!

melbourne16

loved the graphic & the burger!

loved the graphic & the burger!

melbourne14

yep - it's rock melon

yep – it’s rock melon

melbourne12 melbourne11

The night life is also pretty great! There is something for everyone! They have great restaurants and pubs all over downtown, some clubs, or just some great street entertainment along the main strip! I LOVED all the “free” outdoor shows! I particularly enjoyed a band called Our Symphonic Life – they are amazing! Check them out! They have such a cool style that is funky, jazzy, and just plain makes you smile! They are really talented musicians as well! I even found myself randomly joining in on a cypher – a hip hop session where you just begin your rhyme based on the last word & thought of the person before you…again I will say it Melbourne is full of fascinating people!! And I met 5 during that sesh – one was from Japan and would rap in Japanese – so awesome!

Cypher sesh

Cypher sesh

melbourne1

melbourne7

Our Symphonic Life

Our Symphonic Life

Another cool thing I experienced while I was in Melbourne was getting to see all the beautiful Christmas decorations and the light show that the City put on the face of City Hall! It was such a cool sight to see! And right across the street from that were the elaborate window displays from Meyer – these were one of my favorite things! The window told a Christmas story of Russell the Sheep – each window lit up and moved while playing music and telling the story aloud for all to enjoy!

melbourne3

Meyer window "story" display - pretty magical!

Meyer window “story” display – pretty magical!

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

inside Flinders Station

inside Flinders Station

I could literally go on and on but I will end my post here! I have more stories from Melbourne that I will share with you so stay tuned!! Great Ocean Road and Mornington Peninsula were definitely highlights!

Ta!

~Naph

PS, Check Out:

http://www.myspace.com/oursymphoniclife

http://ten.com.au/offspring.htm

Leave a Reply

