The VIEWS from here

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I finally made it to one of the greatest wonders of the world – The Great Barrier Reef!! I must say it is one of the most beautiful sites I’ve ever seen – it could be my incredible love of the ocean that gives me a bias, but honestly if you ever find yourself in this part of the world don’t pass up the opportunity to see it! I chose to do an all day long Reef Adventure through Awesome Adventure Oz Tours and it was pretty fabulous! It took a little while to get there, but on the way to the reef you get to enjoy views of many of the Whitsunday Islands and soak up some rays on the sun deck – PLUS they provide food! Morning Tea, LUNCH and Afternoon Tea!

I had the amazing opportunity to get to view the Reef from 3 different perspectives! Straight on from the Pontoon – a floating base along the outside of the reef – it had a large sun deck, a glass walled viewing room below so you could see the fish too, and a water slide that went right into the ocean! The Pontoon offered “stinger suits” since it is “Stinger Season” in the Tropics for snorkeling, wet suits for scuba diving, and it had a submarine to take visitors out every half hour to view the Reef from below with a glass bottom! It was the perfect spot to take in the views of the Reef from all perspectives!

The second view I got was from above the Reef in a helicopter – I made friends with the guy selling tickets and he gave me and a friend I met at Base (our hostel) a 2-for-1 deal!! So why would you turn that down?? It was amazing!! To see it from that view was simply breathtaking and it really allowed you to see just how HUGE the reef truly is! Plus I got to see the legendary Heart Reef! It was one of my favourite things I’ve done so far and I am so glad I got to check that off my bucket list! It was absolutely stunning – the weather couldn’t have been more perfect either for viewing from above with soft swooping clouds and blue skies to bring out the gorgeous turquoise and dark navy waters of the reef! I will remember that day for the rest of my life and highly recommend doing it; after all you only live once (YOLO)!

And finally I got to view the reef from under water via scuba-diving! I did some snorkeling as well, but it just didn’t compare! It was my first dive and I have to admit it won’t be my last one! I’ve always wanted to try it and again it’s another thing I can check off my bucket list! I fell in love with scuba diving – to feel completely weightless is one of the most amazing feelings EVER! They offered an intro lesson and a guided 30minutes dive – but since we were the last dive of the day they took us down for nearly an hour! To be able to view the Reef from below and all around you – 3D – was just surreal! I kept pinching myself to make sure this was real! The fish were everywhere, every color, and every size! I got to see some amazing coral in all shapes, sizes and colors and feel a part of something that is just miraculous! To be around something that is so complex, so beautiful, so HUGE and has been around for centuries is just a reminder of how AWESOME God is to create this amazingly diverse world! I have to admit that I was terrified at first, how was it going to work and what if my oxygen just stopped working….etc. BUT the instructors were awesome and instantly made me feel at ease and once we got down the views and sea life distracted me and all fears & doubts dissipated. We went down as far as 9 meters, and I learned how to pop my ears along the way as we made our descent – a trick I used on the plane ride back to the GC and didn’t have any ear issues!

Honestly it was one of the best days of my life! I feel so blessed to have had the opportunity to see the Great Barrier Reef at all let alone from all 3 perspectives! I will take all these memories with me and hold them close the rest of my days! I hope you one day get to see it as well – you won’t be the same I promise you that!

Cheers,

~Naph

One thought on “The VIEWS from here

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary to me & YOU! | picturethismyway

Leave a Reply

