The Blue Mountains are the place to BE!

This past week I was FINALLY on the mend from that blasted Tonsillitis, and I took advantage of my new found energy to venture out to see some more of Sydney. I made it all the way up to the Blue Mountains, which is an experience I will NEVER forget! It was quite the trip though, it took nearly 4 HOURS to get there, so I began my day at the crack of dawn…not an easy feat for me (those who know me, know that I am not a morning person J)! But I wasn’t going to let that stop me, so I grabbed a Flat White at the train station, brought a book and allowed myself to just wake up at my own pace, and enjoyed the steady movement of the train. The further we got from the city the more different the landscape became! It seemed more spread out, and more wild in a way that the city is not. I arrived not long after 10a.m., and from the minute I stepped off the train I could smell the Eucalyptus, it just seemed to fill the air with its intoxicating scent! I found I was able to breathe deeper and easier than I had ALL week previous! I knew then that I was going to fall in love with this part of Aus!

Seriously it was the most perfect weather too – sunny with a high of 28° and a gorgeous breeze. Funny thing was not even a week ago it had snowed in the Blue Mountains! So in a way, my Tonsillitis saved me from the bad weather the week before…ha-ha! Well, that’s one way of looking at it I guess.  I met a lovely couple from Japan and we ended up taking the same bush walks and treks into the rainforest together. I can’t recall a time when I was so at peace, so in awe of the world we live in and how amazing God’s creation is! It was one my favorite days in Sydney by far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I got a ticket for the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus and it came with free fairs for the Skyway cable car and the train into the Rain Forest, so not a bad deal all in all. I was literally in AWE all day, the views from pretty much every where they took us were just SPECTACULAR! The Blue Mountains are seen as blue because of a haze effect called “Rayleigh scattering”; it is unique and seen as a deeper BLUE than anywhere else in the world because of the Eucalyptus trees emitting oil vapor into the atmosphere. Cool, huh?! Along with the Blue Mountains are the famous ‘Three Sisters’. They are three rock formations – legend has it they were originally 3 daughters of a man called Tyawan, when he went hunting he turned himself into a lyrebird and had his daughters stay by the cliffs to watch out for him; one day one of the girls knocked a large rock into the valley below waking up the Bunyip who charged up the cliff towards the three girls, Tyawan could not reach his daughters in time so he turned them into rocks; he dropped his magic shinbone so could not change them back nor could he change himself back. So there they remain for all of eternity looking out into the valley keeping watch for their father. They are pretty spectacular to see!

To get to the rainforest you take the Skyway cable car across the rainforest, and it is an event in itself as the floor is glass! You can see everything and feel as though you’re on top of the world! It is so HIGH up too, but it’s just so breathtaking that you forget about your fears and just take it in and enjoy the view of the waterfall below. Once you get across to the other side you take a “train” down to the rainforest. Now this bit was deceiving, when you hear the word train you think of an enclosed vessel that travels ACROSS tracks, NOT straight down with no doors OR seat-belts holding you in! Am I right? This was more like a ride at a theme park, almost like a roller-coaster, and they even played the Indiana Jones theme song to make it more like one. This was my favorite “ride” of the day! It is literally the steepest “train” in the world, and the only thing holding you in is gravity (the seats are kind of shaped like buckets) and a bit of caging over the top of “train” – BUT no doors or seat-belts! I just feel like that bit needs to be repeated! The rainforest was gorgeous! Lush Eucalyptus, palm and gum trees, heaps of new birds and lizards, and a cool lushness fill the rainforest. It was just so different from anything back home that I highly recommend visiting the Blue Mountains if you find yourself over in Sydney! You won’t regret it!

Cheers,

~Naph

Leave a Reply

