“The thing about Footy”

The thing about ‘Footy’ here in Australia is that it could literally mean 1 of five different games! Depending on who you are talking to it could mean AFL, Australian Football League; ARL, Australian Rugby League; NRL, National Rugby League; Soccer, OR regular NFL Football! How confusing is that?? So when asked if you like the Footy you need to know who you’re talking to and what it is that they classify as ‘footy’!

It’s all a bit confusing, but honestly both Rugby and AFL are worth watching! They are serious sports where the athletes go and give 110%, literally they play the whole game! There are NO separate defensive and offensive lines…which means that they play both positions and its pretty ‘full-on’ as they say here in Aus!

I had the chance this last week to attend an AFL game at the Gabba arena in Brisbane. We watched as the Brisbane Lions slaughtered the Western Bulldogs! It was literally 128 to 61!! I had the full experience too, learning a few of the rules, and seeing first hand just how BIG the arena actually is that they have to run continuously! They can’t just throw the ball either, they have to kick it OR hand pump it kinda like volley ball but not at all! Plus the coaches sit up off the field in a box seat position and ring their plays down to runners who relay the coach’s messages to the players! I had my first “real” meat pie too, the kind where you don’t need a fork and knife! Mmmmm! Definitely one of the highlights of my trip so far! I can now say that I’m a fan of Footy, and I include both AFL and Rugby in that classification!

Too bad it’s the end of the season here, because I could really get into Footy! I guess now I’ll have to find a spot to watch AFL in Vancouver when I go home, after all I do have a jersey! GO LIONS!!! Until next time….

Cheers,

~Naph

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

